Thesis project

Choosing a thesis subject

The thesis subject can be chosen freely, so long as it is original and of academic interest. The subject must then be ratified by a professor (art. 24 of the study regulations).

Thesis supervisors

The thesis supervisor is chosen according to the subject of the thesis. So far as possible, the professor to whom the doctoral assistant answers is the thesis supervisor or co-supervisor (art. 6 of the study regulations).

The doctoral thesis can be supervised or co-supervised by a professor at another faculty of the University of Neuchâtel.

Approval of thesis projects

On admission to the doctoral programme, the candidate must submit a thesis project for approval by the Council of Professors, which in turn appoints the thesis supervisor (art. 24 of the study regulations).

For assistants, the thesis project must in principle have been submitted and approved within twelve months of the beginning of the contract (art. 9 of the regulations on assistants).

Language of the thesis

In principle, the thesis must be written in French. However, at the supervisor’s request and with the agreement of the Council of Professors, it may be written in English or one of the official Swiss languages (German or Italian) (art. 26 of the study regulations).

Project submission procedure

Once the supervisor’s agreement has been obtained, the doctoral candidate must ask the Dean’s office, via the faculty secretariat, for the thesis subject to appear on the Council of Professors’ agenda. The request, with the necessary supporting documents, must be submitted electronically to the faculty secretariat. 

This approval request (cover letter) for a thesis project must be accompanied by the following documents:

  • a document, maximum four or five pages, explaining the topic, the research question, the aims of the research, and a note on the thesis outline;
  • a provisional thesis outline;
  • a bibliography relating to the thesis project;
  • the candidate’s CV;
  • copies of university qualifications and transcripts.

The approval request and the documents above must be sent in PDF format to the faculty secretariat around fifteen days before the Council of Professors’ meeting at which the proposal is to be discussed.

Listing at the Thesis Registry (Centrale des thèses)

The Thesis Registry - officially the "Documentation Office of Swiss Legal Theses" - is managed by the Faculty of Law of Fribourg.

After the acceptance of the thesis project, each doctoral candidate can contact the librarian at the Faculty of Law, Mr. Slim Ben Younés (, to receive a username and password in order to proceed with registration. Consulting the Thesis Registry lets candidates check whether a thesis on a particular subject is already in progress. The Registry can be contacted to request the names of registered individuals, so that candidates can communicate with those whose theses have identical or similar subjects.

The Thesis Registry website offers two search engines: a public search engine which can be accessed without a password; and a search engine restricted to universities, requiring the username and password mentioned above. Listing at the Thesis Registry is not obligatory, nor does it protect the subject matter of any thesis project. The Faculty encourages doctoral candidates to be listed at the Thesis Registry. Other databases can also be consulted, to find out about other legal theses, in progress or completed, namely:

Projet de thèse

Choix du sujet de thèse

Le sujet de thèse est libre, à la condition toutefois qu’il présente un intérêt scientifique et une certaine originalité. Le sujet doit ensuite être accepté par un membre du corps professoral de la faculté (art. 24 du règlement d’études).

Directrice ou directeur de thèse

Le directeur de thèse est choisi en fonction du sujet de celle-ci. Dans la mesure du possible, le professeur responsable d’un assistant doctorant est le directeur ou le co-directeur de thèse (art. 6 du règlement des assistants).

La thèse de doctorat peut être dirigée par, ou co-dirigée avec, un membre du corps professoral d'une autre faculté de l'Université de Neuchâtel.

Acceptation du projet de thèse

Le candidat à l’admission au doctorat doit soumettre son projet de thèse au Conseil des professeurs pour approbation. Celui-ci désigne ensuite le directeur de thèse (art. 24 du règlement d’études).

Pour les assistants, le projet de thèse doit être déposé et avoir été approuvé en principe dans les douze mois suivant le début de l’engagement (art. 9 du règlement des assistants).

Langue de la thèse

En principe, la thèse est rédigée en français. Toutefois, sur proposition du directeur de thèse et avec l’accord du Conseil des professeurs, la thèse peut être rédigée en anglais ou dans l’une des langues officielles suisses (allemand ou italien) (art. 26 du règlement d’études).

Procédure de soumission du projet

Une fois obtenu l'accord de la directrice ou du directeur pressenti, la personne candidate à l'admission au doctorat requiert du décanat, via le secrétariat de la Faculté, l'inscription du sujet de thèse à l'ordre du jour du Conseil des professeurs. La demande doit être adressée, avec les documents nécessaires, au secrétariat de la Faculté sous forme électronique.

La demande d'acceptation (lettre de motivation) du projet de thèse doit comporter les documents suivants :

  • un rapport de quatre à cinq pages au maximum expliquant le thème, la problématique, les objectifs de la recherche, ainsi qu'un commentaire du plan proposé ;
  • le plan provisoire de la thèse ;
  • une bibliographie relative au projet de thèse ;
  • un curriculum vitae de la personne candidate ;
  • une copie des diplômes universitaires et relevés de notes.

La demande d’acceptation comportant les éléments ci-dessus doit être envoyée en format pdf au secrétariat de la Faculté environ 15 jours avant la date de la séance du Conseil des professeurs lors de laquelle elle sera traitée.

Inscription à la Centrale des thèses

La Centrale des thèses - officiellement "Office de documentation en matière de thèses juridiques suisses" - est gérée par la Faculté de droit de Fribourg.

Après l'acceptation de son projet de thèse, la personne candidate au doctorat peut s'adresser au bibliothécaire de la Faculté de droit, M. Slim Ben Younés (slim.benyounes@unine.ch), pour obtenir le nom d'utilisateur et le mot de passe permettant l'accès à la procédure d'inscription. La consultation de la Centrale des thèses permet de savoir si un travail est déjà en préparation sur un certain sujet. La Centrale peut être contactée pour demander le nom des personnes qui se sont annoncées, afin de prendre au besoin contact avec celles dont le thème paraît identique ou voisin.

Le site de la Centrale des thèses offre deux moteurs de recherche : un moteur de recherche public auquel il peut être accédé sans mot de passe et un moteur de recherche réservé aux Universités exigeant le nom d'utilisateur et le mot de passe mentionnés ci-dessus. L'inscription à la Centrale n'est ni obligatoire, ni protectrice. La Faculté encourage les personnes candidates au doctorat à s'inscrire auprès de la Centrale des thèses. D’autres bases de données peuvent être consultées pour connaître l’existence d’éventuelles thèses juridiques en cours ou achevées, soit en particulier :