Doctorate

Criteria

To be admitted to the doctoral programme, the candidate must hold a Master of Law degree, or a degree deemed equivalent, with a minimum average grade of 4.75, and a grade of at least 5 for the Master’s dissertation. Occasionally, these criteria may be waived if the candidate can offer proof of supplementary qualifications or the professional experience required to complete the doctorate in question (art. 23 of the study regulations).

Enrolment at the Service des immatriculations (SIM)

To register with the University of Neuchâtel, candidates must enrol as doctoral students with the Service des immatriculations (SIM); this contributes to the University’s statistics on doctoral student numbers, and student numbers more widely, affecting the federal funding available. This step must be taken before the Council of Professors can approve the candidate’s thesis project. The relevant information and enrolment forms can be found under the heading “Admission” on the University of Neuchâtel’s website.

Funding

All those admitted to the University of Neuchâtel with a view to obtaining a doctorate are considered to be doctoral candidates. Doctoral candidates may work as assistants at the same time, in which case the University funds their research.

However, doctoral candidates may simply be registered as doctoral students, receiving no funding for the writing of the thesis.

Finally, they may be funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (abbreviated FNS in French), in principle spending all their time on the writing of the thesis.

The two main pathways to complete an FNS-funded doctorate are:

  • a project submitted by the candidate his/herself (Doc.CH);
  • a project submitted by a faculty professor (where the candidate contributes to an existing research project).

The application criteria are shown on the FNS website.

Doctorat

Conditions

Pour être admis au doctorat, le candidat doit être titulaire d’un master en droit, ou d’un titre jugé équivalent, sanctionné d’une moyenne d’au moins 4,75 et d’une note d’au moins 5 pour le mémoire de master. Une dérogation à ces conditions peut exceptionnellement être admise si le candidat peut justifier d’une formation complémentaire ou d’une expérience professionnelle appropriée pour mener à bien le doctorat prévu (art. 23 du règlement d’études).

Inscription au Service des immatriculations (SIM)

Afin d'être enregistrés auprès de l'Université de Neuchâtel dans la statistique des doctorants et, donc, des étudiants, ce qui a une importance pour l'Université en ce qui concerne le subventionnement fédéral, les assistants doivent s'inscrire comme doctorants auprès du Service des immatriculations (SIM). Cette démarche doit être accomplie avant que le Conseil des professeurs n'approuve le projet de thèse. Les informations importantes pour l’inscription ainsi que les formulaires nécessaires peuvent être trouvés dans la rubrique « Admission » du site internet de l’Université de Neuchâtel.

Financement

Toute personne admise à l’Université de Neuchâtel en vue d’y obtenir un doctorat est considérée comme doctorant. Un doctorant peut en même temps être assistant, ce qui signifie qu’il est financé, pour ses travaux de recherches, par l’Université.

Un doctorant peut également n’être que doctorant, c’est à dire ne recevoir aucun financement pour l’élaboration de sa thèse.

Il peut enfin être financé par le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (FNS) afin de pouvoir en principe consacrer l’entier de son taux d’activité à la rédaction de sa thèse.

Les deux voies principales pour réaliser un doctorat financé par le FNS sont :

  • projet soumis par le doctorant lui-même (Doc.CH) ;
  • projet soumis par un Professeur de la faculté (encouragement à un projet de recherche).

Les conditions d’accès sont détaillées sur le site du FNS.