Office of the Dean

The office of the dean is responsible for the direction and administration of the Faculty of science.

The office is made up of 3 to 5 members. It is led by the dean and the vice-dean as well as the secretary of the dean. All members are elected full professors, nominated by the Faculty council for a duration of 2 years. They can be relected for a supplementary period of 2 years. 

Dean : Prof. Redouan Bshary


Vice dean  : Prof. Philip Brunner

  • Professor at the Centre for hydrogeology and geothermics (CHYN)

Secretary of the Dean : Prof. Pascal Felber

  • Professor at the Computer Science Department (IIUN)

Other members of the office of the dean

  • Prof. Felix Schlenk
    Professor at the Institute of Mathematics (CHYN)
  • Prof. Gaetano Mileti
    Professor at Institute of Physics (IPH - LTF)


Main tasks of the Dean:

  • Organization and supervision of exam sessions
  • Preparation and execution of the decisions of the Faculty council and the Professors' council;
  • Representation of the the Faculty to the university's central authorities as well as externally;
  • Adjucation on equivalency requests and exemptions to the study plan as well as special exam situations;
  • Supervision of the course programs and schedules;
  • Response to special requests emanating from students



 All offical requests to the dean have to be sent by postal mail or by email to:

The dean of the Faculty
Secretary-deanship of the Faculty of science
Rue Emile-Argand 11
2000 Neuchâtel - Suisse
Tél. + 41 32 718 2100

E-mail :

Office T001 - Main entrance - Lakeside of UniMail