Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Can I follow a Bachelor’s or a Master’s programme full time while working at the same time?
You have to know that the academic programmes are organised over 28 weeks a year. If you are gainfully employed, it must be a secondary activity if you wish to have the best chances of obtaining your diploma. However, it is possible to follow a part-time programme on the basis of a learning agreement prepared by the academic advisor. The same applies if you have family responsibilities or if you are involved in sport at a highest level.
Nevertheless, none of the Master’s programmes offer this possibility.

Are there evening classes ?
Sadly, there are no evening classes for any of the masters of the Faculty of Economics and Business.

What level of French must I have to be able to follow the Bachelor’s or Master’s courses with classes in French?
While no level of French is required, it is desirable to have a good comprehension level, as most courses are taught in French (Bachelors and for some Masters).

What level of English must I have to be able to follow a Master with all or some courses in English?
Such as for the French language, a sound knowledge of the English language is required to be able to follow the programmes and courses taught in that language. You have to be able to do presentations and to take written exams in English. While knowledge of the English language can be insufficient at the beginning of the curriculum, students dedicated to their studies may improve their command of the English language rather quickly.

Can I follow a course in another university?
Yes, upon justified request, it is possible to follow optional courses in another university (Geneva, Lausanne, Fribourg and Berne).

Do I have to live in Neuchâtel to follow the Master’s courses?
No, you can easily follow the courses in Neuchâtel while living somewhere else. Neuchâtel is easily accessible by public transport; for instance, train running time from Geneva is 70 minutes.

Is it possible to do an internship?

Yes, during the last year of the Bachelor, students can do a one-month (6 ECTS) or two-month (12 ECTS) internship. At the end of the internship, the student, supervised by a professor, must write a report on the domains related to the internship and the theoretical knowledge acquired. The internship can also be completed abroad.

What shall I do in case I am having difficulties in understanding the teaching?

Thanks to its size, the faculty is able to listen to its students. Professors often propose students who feel the need to get in touch at the end of the class or to make an appointment with them. However, the teaching assistants are the ones who mainly support the students during exercises, an activity which allows students to dig deeper into the materials dealt with in class. They are at the students’ disposal for further explanations.

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

Peut-on suivre le bachelor ou un master à plein temps tout en travaillant ?
Il faut savoir que la formation est dispensée sur 28 semaines par année. Votre activité rémunérée doit être accessoire si vous voulez avoir les meilleures chances d'obtenir votre diplôme. Par contre, il est possible de suivre votre programme à temps partiel sur la base d'un contrat pédagogique élaboré par la conseillère aux études. Il en est de même si vous avez une famille à charge ou excercez une activité sportive de haut niveau. Toutefois, tous les programmes de masters n'offrent pas cette possibilité.

Existe-t-il des cours du soir ?
Malheureusement, il n'existe pas de cours du soir pour tous les masters de la Faculté des sciences économiques.

Quel niveau de français dois-je avoir pour suivre le bachelor ou un master avec des cours en français ?
Si aucun niveau de langue française n’est exigé, il est souhaitable d’avoir un bon niveau de compréhension, les cours étant enseignés en français (bachelor et pour certains masters).

Quel niveau d'anglais dois-je avoir pour suivre un master comprenant tous ou plusieurs cours en anglais ?
Comme pour le français, il est nécessaire d'avoir de bonnes connaissances en anglais pour suivre les programmes dispensés dans cette langue. Il faut être capable de faire des présentations et de passer les examens écrits en anglais. Si au début du cursus les connaissances de l'anglais sont insuffisantes, celles-ci s'améliorent assez rapidement pour l'étudiant qui s'investit dans sa formation.

Peut-on suivre un cours dans une autre université ?
Oui, sur demande motivée, il est possible de suivre des cours à option dans une autre université (Genève, Lausanne, Fribourg et Berne).

Faut-il habiter à Neuchâtel pour suivre les cours du Master ?
Non, vous pouvez tout à fait suivre les cours à Neuchâtel tout en habitant ailleurs. Neuchâtel est très bien desservie par les transports publics ; par exemple, depuis Genève le trajet en train dure 70 minutes.

Est-il possible de faire un stage ?

Oui, durant la dernière année de bachelor, l’étudiant peut réaliser un stage pratique d’un mois (6 ECTS) ou deux mois (12 ECTS) en entreprise. Au terme du stage, l’étudiant, encadré par un professeur, doit rédiger un rapport sur les domaines couverts par le stage et les connaissances théoriques acquises. Le stage peut être réalisé aussi à l’étranger.

Que faire en cas de difficultés rencontrées dans la compréhension de certains enseignements ?

De par sa taille, la faculté peut se permettre d'être à l'écoute de ses étudiants. Les professeurs proposent souvent aux étudiants qui en éprouvent le besoin de prendre contact avec lui à la fin du cours ou de fixer un rendez-vous avec lui. Mais l’essentiel du suivi des étudiants se fait par les assistants lors des travaux pratiques, ce qui permet aux étudiants d’approfondir la matière vue au cours théorique. Ils se tiennent à disposition des étudiants qui demandent des compléments d'explications.