Portrait

The Faculty of Economics and Business accommodates some 600 students supervised by one hundred teachers, researchers and administrators. The attention that professors and assistants pay to the curriculum of each student as well as the quality of the teaching have been pointed out in several surveys conducted on its students. 

The Faculty offers high-level education thanks to the competence of its professors and to the numerous researches and expertises which are conducted by its five institutes. The research programmes, both national and international, as well as the mandates for federal and local governments, and firms, reinforce the visibility of the Faculty and also foster the variousfrançais teachings.

The Faculty of Economics and Business (Faculté des sciences économiques, FSE henceforth) wants to become a European reference in terms of best training practices in selected business-related fields. This position should be backed up by high-quality research activities, a strong international network, and privileged relationships with the corporate world and public authorities.

As one of the five faculties of the University of Neuchâtel, a Swiss public university, the FSE has the official mandate to provide high-quality educational programs. It does so on the basis of a unique combination of innovative learning and teaching, basic and applied research, and community engagement, in a number of carefully selected domains, which are all relevant to business activities in an international environment.

High-quality education. This is the paramount objective of the FSE. At the undergraduate level, it translates into making sure that all recipients of an FSE bachelor are ideally trained and admissible to consecutive master programs in Switzerland or abroad. At the graduate level, or executive education level, this means that FSE graduates should locate amongst the best-trained professionals in their field when they enter (or re-enter) the job market.

Innovative teaching and learning. Study plans and teaching methods are systematically revised in order to update content, improve knowledge acquisition, stimulate independent thinking and match the needs of future employers. All management issues are treated on the basis of a clinical approach, involving interactive teaching and cooperation with companies, strengthening the employability of our graduates.

Basic and applied research. Research activities sustain the updating of educational programs and are the essential training tool for doctoral and post-doctoral students. Results achieve the highest standards and their diffusion promotes the international scientific visibility of the FSE. All research projects undertaken at the FSE are linked with concrete socio-economic issues faced by the business community.

Business relevance. Educational programs and research projects undertaken at the FSE are not selected at random but for being relevant for business practice today and in the future. This confers internal coherence and a strong contribution to the local, national and international communities.

International orientation. The FSE has the commitment to prepare its students to an ever more interdependent world. This implies the development of English-speaking programs, international research and networking activities, student mobility, as well as a teaching faculty that is well diversified in terms of linguistic and cultural backgrounds.

Intellectual integrity. We believe in the virtues of scientific rigor, not only to perform high-quality research, but also as a key problem-solving approach to address day-to-day educational and administrative issues within the faculty. Transparency and honesty in behavior and communication are expected from all students and faculty members alike.

Openness. Innovation and creativity in teaching, research and business practices require frank and open minds, ready to exchange ideas, competences and experiences with enthusiasm and without prejudices.

Relevance. Only the most important business-related issues deserve to be addressed by teaching and/or research. This is achieved through intense collaboration, both within and outside the FSE, with a constant awareness of what the most critical issues are for corporations or public authorities. It also implies a quality-oriented, performance-friendly attitude, and a readiness to criticize and improve our results and processes.

Responsibility. People should always be allowed a fair and tolerant treatment. In return, they are expected to collaborate, contribute to the common objectives of the FSE, and behave with a high sense of responsibility towards current and future generations.

Portrait

La Faculté des sciences économiques accueille près de 600 étudiants qui sont encadrés par une centaine de personnes chargées de l'enseignement, de la recherche, de la documentation et de l'administration. L'attention que portent les professeurs et les assistants au cursus de chaque étudiant et la qualité de l'enseignement ont été relevées dans plusieurs enquêtes menées auprès de ses étudiants.  

Si la Faculté offre une formation de haut niveau, c'est non seulement grâce aux compétences de ses professeurs en matière d'enseignement mais aussi grâce aux nombreux travaux de recherche et d'expertise qui sont menés au sein de ses cinq instituts. Les programmes de recherche, tant nationaux qu'européens, et les mandats réalisés pour les collectivités publiques et les entreprises renforcent la visibilité de la Faculté, et nourrissent également les divers enseignements.

La Faculté des sciences économiques (FSE) vise à devenir une référence européenne en matière de meilleures pratiques de formation dans des domaines sélectionnés du monde des affaires. Pour ce faire, elle développe des activités de recherche de haute qualité, un solide réseau international, et des relations privilégiées avec les entreprises et les autorités publiques.

En tant que faculté de l'Université de Neuchâtel, une université publique suisse, la FSE a le mandat officiel de mettre sur pied des programmes éducatifs de haute qualité. Elle répond à ce mandat au travers d'une combinaison unique de méthodes d'apprentissage et d'enseignement innovants, d'activités de recherche, et d'engagements envers la communauté, dans un nombre limité de domaines soigneusement choisis en raison de leur pertinence pour la promotion et le développement des activités économiques dans un contexte international.

Etudes de haute qualité. Il s'agit de l'objectif primordial de la FSE. Au niveau du premier cycle universitaire, il se traduit par l'assurance que tous les détenteurs d'un bachelor FSE soient idéalement formés et admissibles pour la poursuite d'études de master en Suisse ou à l'étranger. Au niveau du deuxième et troisième cycle, ou de la formation continue, il implique que les diplômés FSE doivent être reconnus comme faisant partie des professionnels les mieux formés du domaine concerné lors de leur entrée (ou de leur retour) sur le marché du travail.

Apprentissage et enseignement innovants. Les plans d'études et les méthodes d'enseignement sont systématiquement révisés afin d'actualiser le contenu, faciliter l'acquisition des connaissances, stimuler l'indépendance intellectuelle et répondre aux besoins des futurs employeurs. Tous les enseignements de gestion se basent sur une approche clinique des problèmes rencontrés par les entreprises, en étroite association avec ces dernières, ce qui renforce l'employabilité de nos diplômés.

Rercherche de base et appliquée. Les activités de recherche soustendent l'actualisation des programmes d'étude et sont un instrument de formation essentiel au niveau doctoral et post-doctoral. Les résultats répondent aux standards les plus élevés, et leur publication alimente la visibilité scientifique de la FSE sur le plan international. Tous les projets de recherche conduits par la FSE sont liés à des questions socio-économiques concrètes auxquelles se trouve confronté le monde des affaires.

Pertinence entrepreneuriale. Les programmes éducatifs et les projets de recherche mis sur pied par la FSE ne sont pas sélectionnés au hasard mais en raison de leur pertinence pour les entreprises d'aujourd'hui et de demain. Ce soucis de pertinence assure la cohérence interne de la FSE et renforce la valeur de ses contributions à la collectivité, que ce soit sur le plan local, national ou international.

Orientation internationale. La FSE s'engage à péparer ses étudiants à une monde toujours plus interdépendant. Cela implique le développement de filières d'études en anglais, de programmes de mobilité, de recherche et de mise en réseau sur le plan international, ainsi qu'une politique de recrutement assurant la diversité linguistique et culturelle.

Intégrité intellectuelle. Nous croyons aux vertus de la rigueur scientifique, non seulement pour entreprendre des recherches de qualité, mais aussi pour résoudre les questions éducatives et administratives courantes au sein de la faculté. La transparence et l'honnêteté sont de rigueur dans le comportement et la communication de tous les étudiants et de tous les membres de la faculté.

Ouverture. L'innovation et la créativité en matière d'enseignement, de recherche et de pratiques entrepreneuriales requièrent de personnalités franches et ouvertes, disposées à l'échange d'idées, de compétences et d'expériences dans un état d'esprit enthousiaste et exempt de tout préjugé.

Pertinence. Seules les questions les plus importantes affectant le monde des affaires méritent d'être traitées par l'enseignement et/ou la recherche. Cela requiert d'une collaboration intense, au sein de la FSE comme avec l'extérieur, afin d'identifier les questions cruciales pour les entreprises et les autorités publiques. Cela implique aussi l'usage d'indicateurs de qualité et de performance, et une réelle disposition à l'autocritique et à l'amélioration des résultats et des processus.

Responsabilité. Au sein de la FSE, quiconque est en droit d'être traité avec impartialité et tolérance. Cela implique en retour que tout un chacun s'engage à collaborer, à contribuer aux objectifs communs, et à adopter un comportement responsable vis-à-vis des générations présentes et futures.