Didier Burkhalter

The mark of the University

Berlin, Paris, Rome ? What city should you choose to take up university studies? How to fully enjoy continental openness and cross-fertilization of ideas? Why not Neuchâtel ? Neuchâtel is not a large city. However, nestled in the centre of Europe and close from everything, it has certain qualities of large cities, while avoiding their quirks. One of Neuchâtel’s main strengths is unquestionably the University. Once again, even a small size is no limit to ambitions.

About a good half of my life separates me from my university memories. Nevertheless, they remain engraved deep inside me, reminding their presence powerfully and silently at every stage, along the path of decisions. In my day, Masters or Bachelors did not exist. However, the thirst for studies was the same, composed both of a magnetic attraction to knowledge and the latent awareness that your future largely depends on your acts. I had the chance to study at the faculty of Economics and Business of the University of Neuchâtel, and also to work there as an assistant. I then choose to study economic policy, vaguely sensing that I could use the theory as a reference for cultivating the practice.

The waves and the currents of the years have gone by. Today, I simply feel grateful to a very small University which gave me my one and only conviction: that you constantly have to learn by yourself to be able to understand – even in some small way – the world and other people.

Didier Burkhalter

La marque de l'Université

Berlin, Paris, Rome ? Quelle ville choisir pour se lancer dans les études universitaires ? Comment profiter pleinement de l’ouverture continentale et du brassage des idées ? Et pourquoi pas Neuchâtel ? Neuchâtel n’est pas une grande cité. Mais, nichée au centre de l’Europe et proche de tout, elle en a certaines des qualités, tout en évitant leurs travers. L’un de ses points forts est sans conteste l’Université. Là encore, la taille, modeste, ne limite pas toujours les ambitions.

Mes souvenirs universitaires sont éloignés par une bonne moitié de ma vie. Ils restent cependant imprégnés au fond de moi, rappelant leur présence aussi forte que silencieuse à chaque étape, le long du chemin des décisions. A l’époque, on ne parlait pas encore de masters ou de bachelors. Pourtant, la soif d’étudier était la même, faite à la fois d’une attirance aimantée pour le savoir et de cette conscience sourde que l’avenir dépend d’abord de ses propres actes. J’ai eu la chance d’étudier à la faculté des sciences économiques de l’Université de Neuchâtel, d’y travailler aussi en tant qu’assistant. Je me suis dirigé alors vers l’économie politique, pressentant confusément que je pourrais puiser dans la théorie
pour cultiver la pratique.

Les vagues et les courants des années ont passé. Aujourd’hui, je ressens simplement de la reconnaissance à l’égard d’une toute petite Université qui m’a donné ma seule certitude : qu’il faut sans cesse apprendre soi-même pour comprendre – ne serait-ce qu’un peu – le monde et les autres.