Defence and publication

Selection of the examiners

The panel of thesis examiners is made up of the thesis supervisor and two other professors, with at least one from outside the Faculty. The examiners are appointed by the Council of Professors. In principle, the panel is chaired by the Dean, or a member of the Dean’s office (cf. art. 25 of the study regulations).

Acceptance and defence of the thesis

When the candidate considers the thesis completed, s/he must present a copy to the thesis supervisor, who, if it is judged acceptable, will invite the candidate to submit copies to the other examiners. Each then writes a report, to be given to the Dean in preparation for the defence. Once any revisions requested by the examiners have been made, the examiners inform the supervisor, who then invites the candidate to present a copy of the thesis to the secretariat. At the request of the supervisor, the Dean confirms the date of the defence.

The defence is public. It comprises a presentation by the candidate, an oral report by the examiners, and a discussion. At the end of the defence, the panel decides on whether a cum laude mention should be given, and approves the certificate.

The Doctor of Law diploma is conferred after the thesis is submitted following the guidelines in force, and bears the date on which the certificate was awarded.

Publication

After the thesis defence, the doctoral candidate, armed with the certificate, must submit the thesis to the Law Faculty Library, in order to receive the title of Doctor awarded by the University (cf. art. 1 of the University of Neuchâtel’s directives on the submission of theses).

When all the aforementioned requirements have been met, the Law Faculty Library issues the candidate with a receipt confirming the submission of the thesis (cf. art. 6 ibid.).

The candidate sends a copy of the thesis submission receipt to the Faculty secretariat. The candidate must provide five printed copies of the thesis, one signed by the Dean of the Faculty, as well as an electronic copy (cf. art. 2 ibid.).

By submitting the thesis, the candidate authorizes the University of Neuchâtel to publish it online, for an unlimited period. This can be waived by the Dean of the Faculty if notice is given by the supervisor (cf. art. 3 ibid.). This waiver is granted, for instance, when the commercial publication of the thesis has been agreed on in advance with a publishing house or a series editor.

The candidate separately provides the Library Service with a summary of the thesis, of no more than 4000 characters (including spaces), in a standard electronic format (cf. art. 4 ibid.) In terms of format, the thesis must follow the guidelines below.

The title page must contain:

  • the author’s first name(s) and surname;
  • the title of the thesis;
  • the names of the relevant faculties or institutes;
  • the first name(s) and surname of the supervisor;
  • the first name(s) and surname of each member of the examination panel;
  • the date of the defence;
  • before the summary, the keywords relating to the thesis subject (given in French and English), as chosen by the author. The electronic version is to be submitted in PDF format.

The text is also required in its original format (e.g. Word). The paper versions can be no larger than A4, and no smaller than A5 (cf. art. 5 ibid.).

The Law Faculty Library must issue the candidate with a receipt confirming the submission of the thesis when all the aforementioned requirements have been met (cf. art. 6 ibid.).

Doctoral students send a copy of the thesis submission receipt to the Faculty secretariat.

Soutenance et publication

Désignation du jury

Le jury de thèse est composé du directeur de thèse et de deux autres membres du corps professoral, dont l'un au moins est choisi en dehors de la Faculté. Le jury de thèse est désigné par le Conseil des professeurs. Il est présidé en principe par le doyen ou un membre du décanat (cf. art. 25 du règlement d'études).

Acceptation et soutenance de la thèse

Lorsque le doctorant estime sa thèse achevée, il en remet un exemplaire à son directeur de thèse, qui, s'il juge la thèse acceptable, l'invite à en soumettre un exemplaire aux autres membres du jury. Chacun rédige un rapport qu'il remet au doyen en vue de la soutenance. Une fois effectuées les éventuelles corrections demandées par les autres membres du jury, ces derniers en informent le directeur de thèse, qui invite le doctorant à déposer un exemplaire de sa thèse au secrétariat. Sur proposition du directeur de thèse, le doyen fixe la date de la soutenance.

La soutenance est publique. Elle comprend un exposé de la doctorante ou du doctorant, un rapport oral des membres du jury et une discussion. A l'issue de la soutenance, le jury se prononce sur l'attribution éventuelle d'une mention et octroie l'imprimatur.

Le diplôme de Doctorat en droit est conféré après le dépôt de la thèse selon les modalités en vigueur. Il porte la date de l'imprimatur.

Publication

Après la soutenance de thèse, le doctorant doit déposer sa thèse, munie de l'imprimatur, à la Bibliothèque de droit, afin de pouvoir recevoir le titre de docteur délivré par l'Université (cf. art. 1 des Directives de l'Université de Neuchâtel pour le dépôt des thèses).

La Bibliothèque de droit établit à l'attention du doctorant une attestation de dépôt de thèse quand toutes les conditions précitées sont remplies (cf. art. 6 dudit document).

Le doctorant transmet une copie de l'attestation de dépôt de thèse au secrétariat de la Faculté. Le doctorant doit fournir 5 exemplaires imprimés de sa thèse, dont un est signé par la doyenne ou le doyen de la Faculté, ainsi qu'une version électronique (cf. art. 2 dudit document).

En déposant la thèse, le doctorant autorise l'Université de Neuchâtel à publier sa thèse sur Internet, sans limitation dans le temps. Une dérogation peut être accordée par le doyen de la Faculté sur préavis du directeur (cf. art. 3 dudit document). Cette dérogation est accordée par exemple lorsqu'une édition commerciale de la thèse est envisagée et a fait l'objet d'un accord préalable avec une maison d'édition ou une collection.

Le doctorant fournit séparément au Service des bibliothèques un résumé de sa thèse de 4'000 caractères au maximum (espaces compris) dans un format électronique standard (cf. art. 4 dudit document). D’un point de vue formel, la thèse doit remplir les conditions qui suivent.

La page de titre contient :

  • le prénom et le nom de l'auteur-e ;
  • le titre de la thèse ;
  • les noms des facultés ou instituts concernés ;
  • le prénom et le nom de la directrice ou du directeur de la thèse ;
  • le prénom et le nom des rapporteurs (membres du jury) ;
  • la date de la soutenance ;
  • précédant le résumé, des mots clés qualifiant le sujet de la thèse et choisis par l'auteur-e ; ces mots clés sont indiqués en français et en anglais. Le format de texte exigé pour les versions électroniques est le pdf.

Le texte en format original (p.ex. Word) est également requis. Les formats suivants sont admis pour les versions sur papier : au maximum A4 et au minimum A5 (cf. art. 5 dudit document).

La Bibliothèque de droit établir à l'attention du doctorant une attestation de dépôt de thèse quand toutes les conditions précitées sont remplies (cf. art. 6 dudit document).

Les doctorants transmettent une copie de l'attestation de dépôt de thèse au secrétariat de la Faculté.